California Communications Association

Robert Ringman Scholarship Fund


Robert Ringman Scholarships are available to employees and immediate family members of CalCom Telcos and Associate Members.

Download an application here

Return completed applications to:

Robert Ringman Scholarship Fund
3626 Fair Oaks Blvd., Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95864

Or email:
By fax:  916.922.3648

Application Deadline: Friday, July 28, 2023


Who is Robert Ringman?

Robert A. Ringman was a true telephone industry leader. He dedicated his career, spanning 40 years, to the growth and success of the telephone industry. Starting as a draftsman in 1947 and progressing to the position of president of an independent telephone company, he developed a thorough understanding of the industry. Bob Ringman was to make his most important leadership mark on the telephone industry in his “second career” beginning in 1969 as the EVP of the Oregon Independent Telephone Association (now Oregon Telecommunications Association) and then later, in 1979, with the California Independent Telephone Association (CITA) (then becoming CTA) and now CalCom. Through his association efforts, Bob was widely known and respected for his industry knowledge, his understanding of the often difficult issues, and his ability to work successfully for a viable telephone industry. Bob was the EVP of the California “Independent” Telephone Association from 1979 to his sudden death in 1988.


What is the Robert Ringman Scholarship Fund?

The Robert Ringman Scholarship Fund, formerly the “Robert A. Ringman Memorial Living Trust” was established by the California Telecommunications Group, a combined effort of the California Telephone Association (CTA) and the Independent Telephone Pioneer Association (ITPA) California Chapter. The Trust is designed to recognize the importance of education in the telephone industry family and to provide rewards and incentives for family members to continue their search for educational excellence. Scholarships are awarded annually to one or more students and announced at CalCom’s Annual Conference. The Trust is established to provide scholarships on an ongoing basis. Funding for the Trust is provided through corporate and personal contributions and through part of the proceeds from golf tournaments and events held by CalCom and the Volcano Memorial Golf Tournament.


2021 Scholarship Winner

On behalf of the Robert Ringman Scholarship Board, and the CalCom Board of Directors, we would like to congratulate Cheyenne Wass as the 4-year college scholarship recipient. Cheyenne currently attends Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, Oklahoma.  She plans on graduating in May 2022 with a degree in Elementary Education.  After graduation, she will begin her journey as an elementary school teacher.  One of her career priorities is to teach in rural communities. Good luck to you, Cheyenne!!


Past Scholarship Recipients:


2022  NONE
2021 $5,000 – Cheyenne Wass (Sponsor – Bodie Wass w/Sierra Telephone )
2020 $5,000 – Raylynn Scott (Sponsor – Daniel Scott w/Sierra Telephone)
2019 $5,000 – Landry McIntosh (Sponsor – Tamara Morehouse w/Innovative Systems LLC)
2018 $5,000 – Matthew J. Olson (Sponsor – Jeff Olson w/Hubbell Power Systems)
$2,500 – Michael D. Montgomery (Sponsor – Michael Montgomery w/Sierra Telephone)
2017 $5,000 – Olivia Votaw (Sponsor – Eric Votaw w/Ducor)
2016 $5,000 – Shelby Peters (Sponsor – Debbie Peters w/Sierra)
2015 $5,000 – Justice Rasmussen (Sponsor – Jim Tower w/Calaveras)
$2,500 – Jesse Parr (Sponsor- Jacob Parr w/Sierra)
2014 $5,000 – Samantha Clark (Sponsor – Eric Vargas w/Ponderosa)
2013 $5,000 – Kelsey Conklin (Sponsor – Will Meyer w/Ducor)
$5,000 – Shelby Lofy (Sponsor – Fred Lofy w/Sebastian)
2012 $5,000 – Breanna Rogue (Sponsor – Kirby Smith w/Calaveras)
$5,000 – Rebekah Benavides (Sponsor – Robert Benavides w/Ponderosa)
2011 $1,500 – Kirsten Keyser (Sponsor – Janet Burkett w/Sierra)
$1,500 – Kristen B. McLane (Sponsor – Kathy McLane w/Ponderosa)
2010 $1,500 – Joseph McMillan (Sponsor – Molly Maxwell w/Calaveras)
$   500 – Dustin Avinelis (Sponsor – Mike Avinelis w/Ponderosa)
2009 $1,500 – Jamie Wolfe (Sponsor – Eric Wolfe w/Ducor)
2008 $1,500 – Lindsay Poole (Sponsor – Sherry Colgate w/Sierra)
$   500 – Forrest Martin (Sponsor – PJ Grant w/Sierra)
2007 $1,500 – Emily Moon (Sponsor – John Willoughby w/SureWest)
2006 $1,500 – Kristin Avinelis (Sponsor – Mike Avinelis w/Kerman)
$   500 – Elizabeth Sousa (Sponsor – Ed Ormsbee w/Cal-Ore)